Tag Archive: loudness

Loudness Live In Kuala Lumpur

Checkout my malay articles..here


Muneteka Higuchi of Loudness R.I.P

Munetaka Higuchi, the drummer and co-founder of the Japanese heavy metal band Loudness, passed away on Sunday at about 10:00 a.m. on 30 october 2008 in a hospital in Osaka, Japan. He was 49. Akira Takasaki, the guitarist who met Higuchi during high school before forming Loudness, announced the news on his personal website on the same day.

The official website for Loudness had announced in April that Higuchi had been diagnosed with liver cancer, and later reported in September that Higuchi went through two rounds of chemotherapy. Higuchi left a message on the website on October 16 that acknowledged that his condition had gotten worse, despite an operation to remove half of his liver.

Hurricane Eyes – Loudness

Loudness – Hurricane Eyes (Atco) 1987

1. “S.D.I.” (4:15)
2. “This Lonely Heart” (4:08)
3. “Rock ‘N’ Roll Gypsy” (4:22)
4. “In My Dreams” (4:30)
5. “Take Me Home” (3:16)
6. “Strike of the Sword” (3:50)
7. “Rock This Way” (4:07)
8. “In This World Beyond” (4:26)
9. “Hungry Heart” (4:08)
10. “So Lonely” (4:43)

Produced by Eddie Kramer, who is famous for producing KISS and Frehley’s Comet. “Hurricane Eyes” doesn’t sound much different from the Max Norman produced “Lighning Strikes.” “Hurricane Eyes” starts off good with “S.D.I.” a fast, shredding number that is one of the finest the band had written to this point. “This Lonely Heart” continues to impress, then all of the sudden the disc come to a crashing halt with “Rock ‘n’ Roll Gypsy”. This song is a keyboard laced pop-metal piece of crap.

Next up is a power ballad “In My Dreams” that contains some excellent soloing towards the end. “Take Me Home” is another fast and heavy Loudness track that could fit on any of the past two discs. The main guitar riff from “Strike the Sword” reminds me of Motley Crue‘s “To Young For Your Love.” “Rock this Way” and “Hungry Heart” are both mid paced heavy metal numbers. The disc finishes off with “So Lonely” another syrupy pop ballad. This would be the last disc for vocalist Minuro Niihara who apparently was given the boot in favor of a more Western friendly vocalist. (i.e. someone without a Japanese accent.) Too bad, because as I have said before, it is Minuro’s vocals, along with Akira’s guitar antics that give Loudness their originality and charm.